Evan Williams

Maker: Heaven Hill, Bardstown/Louisville, Kentucky, USA

Age: NAS

Proof: 86 (43% ABV)

Appearance: Bright copper.

Nose: Corn syrup, mint, eucalyptus, butterscotch.

On the palate: Medium-bodied and sweet. Corn, butterscotch, vanilla, caramel, something slightly floral.

Finish: Minty, sweet. Vanilla toffee, mint julep.

Parting words: Evan Williams is the second best-selling brand of bourbon whiskey in the world. I have trouble figuring out why. Why it doesn’t outsell Jim & and Jack, that is.

Evan Williams is Heaven Hill’s flagship bourbon. It’s a distillery known for value bourbons, and Evan Williams is no exception. For a bourbon of this youth and price, one should expect a lot less. It’s not particularly subtle, but it is much more complex than Jack Daniels and more pleasant than Jim Beam. It straddles the line between the minty (yeast-related, IMO) and caramel characteristics of Heaven Hill bourbons, exhibiting a balance rare on its shelf. Evan Williams (black label) is recommended.

3 thoughts on “Evan Williams

  1. Agree 110% – I did a tasting last week of Jack Daniels, Jim Beam, and Evan Williams as the top 3 American Whiskeys in terms of sales volume (I believe), and thought that all things considered I would reach for Evan Williams over the other two. I thought it definitely had the best finish of the bunch, and more character than Jim. I consider myself a bourbon enthusiast, but I would even take Jack over Jim if given the option.

Leave a comment